Foto: Knut Utler

New ensemble and comissioned work//



premiere at Hardanger Music Fest,

June 5, 6 and 7 2019.


Benedicte Maurseth: composition and Hardanger fiddle
Jasser Haj Youssef: viola d´amore
Mats Eilertsen: double bass
Håkon Mørch Stene: percussion, vibraphone and electronics

Hárr is the norse name of one of the highest mountains on Hardangervidda in Norway.

In her new work, Hárr, Benedicte Maurseth has composed and arranged new music together with the remarkable musicians, Stene, Haj Youssef and Eilertsen.


The music is based on Maursets norwegian folk music roots together with clear musical impulses from contemporary music, free improvised music and North-African music. All of it mixed with sounds from reindeers, birds and old hunters and shepards connected to the mountain she herself is from.